Ten Community Rail Partnerships, from across the South West, are encouraging people to ‘Leaf the City’ and make the most of the many great destinations accessible via sustainable transport.

There’s a wonderful host of stations to travel to, from Axminster through to Wareham, as well as making the most of other transport opportunities such as ferry, hovercraft, heritage railway or by bike.

Community Rail Partnerships work with stakeholders to encourage healthy and sustainable travel to a wide range of locations across the rail network. Find out more about them below.


The Partnerships are at Waterloo station in London all day on Wednesday 15 May as part of Community Rail in the City which is organised by ACoRP, the Association of Community Rail Partnerships.

Enter our prize draw

Enter our prize draw to win complimentary tickets to travel on one of the following:

South Western Railway
CrossCountry Trains
Swanage Railway

About the Community Rail Partnerships

Blackmore Vale Line CRP


This partnership was set up in January 2016 to cover the unique stations from Tisbury to Crewkerne. Its core aim is to promote the area to prospective rail passengers and to work with local people to improve the stations along the line.

Stations: Tisbury, Gillingham, Templecombe, Sherborne, Yeovil Junction, Crewkerne

DCRP - East Devon Line


The first rail partnership in the country, formed in 1991, the Devon & Cornwall Rail Partnership (DCRP) has seen great success in the promotion and growth of services across that region. The group has run innovative marketing campaigns and launched creative concepts like the ‘Munchtime Express’, showcasing local restaurants onboard Great Western’s Looe Valley Line.


SWR is delighted to work with DCRP on the East Devon line, covering Exeter to Axminister.

Stations: Axminster, Honiton, Feniton, Whimple, Cranbrook, Pinhoe

East Hampshire CRP


This group covers the stations of Liphook, Liss, Petersfield and Rowlands Castle. It pays particular attention to the role of these stations as gateways to the South Downs National Park, working with the park, and other local attractions, to bring more visitors to the area using the trains.

Stations: Liphook, Liss, Peterfield, Rowlands Castle

Surrey Hills to South Downs CRP


The newest CRP on the network, it is a gateway to the South Downs National Park and the Surrey Hills. The CRP even has its own information hub at Haslemere station, helping to direct visitors to local attractions.


Stations: Haslemere, Witley and Milford

Hounslow Line CRP


This was the first London CRP, covering stations from Barnes to Feltham. The aim of the partnership is to build on community engagement in the area and encourage greater involvement in the stations.

Stations: Barnes Bridge, Kew Bridge, Chiswick, Brentford, Isleworth, Syon Lane, Hounslow, Barnes, Mortlake, North Sheen, Richmond, St Margarets, Twickenham, Whitton, Feltham

Isle of Wight CRP


This partnership is the longest running on the SWR network, being launched in 2005, with the aim to create a more sustainable future for rail on the Island. The CRP has successfully delivered numerous projects to the benefit of the railway, its users and the community from Ryde to Shanklin.

Stations: Ryde Pier Head, Ryde Esplanade, Ryde St Johns Road, Smallbrook junction, Brading, Sandown, Lake, Shanklin

Lymington to Brockenhurst CRP


The CRP was launched in July 2008 with formal designation granted from the Department for Transport on the same day as the line’s 150th anniversary. The partnership works to help people discover and experience attractions from the New Forest, to Lymington and on to the Isle of Wight.

Stations: Lymington Pier, Lymington Town, Brockenhurst

North Downs Line (Gatwick to Reading)


The North Downs Community Rail Partnership was formed in 2017 (Gatwick to Guildford) and extended in April 2018 to cover stations on the SWR network up to Reading. Key partners involved along the line are the councils as well as the Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the North Downs Way and many businesses.

Three Rivers CRP


This partnership aims to improve stations and services in the area of the rail routes that run alongside the main rivers between Salisbury, Winchester, Southampton and Bursledon – hence ‘Three Rivers’. It is a group of local authorities, residents and the train industry, working to improve local stations, promote tourism, and train and bus service integration.

Stations: Salisbury, Dean, Mottisfont & Dunbridge, Romsey, Millbrook, Redbridge, Southampton Central, St Denys, Swaythling, Southampton Airport, Eastleigh, Chandler's Ford, Bitterne, Woolston, Sholing, Netley, Hamble, Bursledon, Shawford, Winchester

Purbeck CRP


Formed in conjunction with Swanage Railway, Purbeck CRP supports the ongoing project to reintroduce services from Wareham to Swanage. In June 2017, the railway reached the impressive milestone of the first passenger services from Wareham to Swanage in 45 years since the closure of the line. The CRP covers not only the Swanage line but also all four of the mainline stations between Holton Heath and Moreton.

Stations: Holton Heath, Wareham, Wool, Moreton, Corfe Castle, Herston Halt & Swanage